Development Review Committee Agenda 8-28-192019-09-11T11:11:12-06:00

TREMONTON CITY CORPORATION
DEVELOPMENT REVIEW COMMITTEE
AUGUST 28, 2019

Members Present:
Steve Bench, Chairman/Zoning Administrator
Chris Breinholt, City Engineer
Marc Christensen, Community Services Director—excused
Paul Fulgham, Public Works Director
Shawn Warnke, City Manager
Cynthia Nelson, Deputy Recorder

Chairman Bench called the Development Review Committee Meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. The meeting was held August 28, 2019 in the City Council Meeting Room at 102 South Tremont Street, Tremonton, Utah. Chairman Bench, Engineer Breinholt, Director Fulgham (arrived 9:01 a.m.), City Manager Warnke, and Deputy Recorder Nelson were in attendance. Director Christensen was excused.

1. Approval of agenda:

Motion by Engineer Breinholt to approve the August 28, 2019 agenda. Motion seconded by Administrator Bench. Vote: Chairman Bench – aye, Engineer Breinholt – aye, Manager Warnke – aye. Motion approved.

2. Approval of minutes—July 23, 2019 & July 31, 2019

Motion by Engineer Breinholt to approve the minutes of July 23, 2019 & July 31, 2019. Motion seconded by Manager Warnke. Vote: Chairman Bench – aye, Engineer Breinholt – aye, Manager Warnke – aye. Motion approved.

3. New Business:

a. Preliminary approval for River Valley 4-plex

Engineer Breinholt asked how they are going to access the front of their houses through the swell. Matt Nielson said there is going to be parking back here and around through the garage. The front door will have a sidewalk around the front against the house. Manager Warnke asked about the storm drain basin. Director Fulgham said it cannot get any shallower than a foot or it will not drain out of the parking lot. It is a foot drop spread out over 10 feet. Engineer Breinholt said there is not enough information to approve it at this point. It is more conceptual than preliminary. We need to get the calculations and utilities. I will email my comments. We need the subdivision plat portion, the construction drawings, and the landscape architect. Mr. Nielson said the changes requested last meeting have been made.

b. Preliminary review for T & M Subdivision at 1600 West 1000 North – Jim Flint, Hansen & Associates

Mr. Jim Flint said I wanted to follow-up and solidify what we talked about in order to finalize the plat. What are the setbacks? Administrator Bench said the rear and sides are 20 feet, while the front is 25 feet. Mr. Flint said what did the frontage collector have to do with this and will the road from the south significantly affect the whole site plan? Engineer Breinholt said no, the frontage road is just deciding whether it is going to be a collector—it is not going to move. Manager Warnke said does the curb line up with the edge of asphalt. Mr. Flint said we showed adding curb along the existing edge. If you need a dedication, we need to get that on there. These three entrances have a 10-foot dedication. I have a 4.5-foot planter strip and an 8-foot trail. Is the City paying for half of that and what side is that going to be on? Director Fulgham said it would be on the south side because of the power lines. It would be easier to make a transition back to the north side by I-15. They discussed how that transition would flow and Administrator Bench said it would be nice to have on the hospital side. The Committee discussed which roads and accesses belong to Utah Department of Transportation (UDOT). Manager Warnke suggested they setup a meeting with UDOT.

Administrator Bench said as far as the underlying subdivision itself, you need to work toward that as we work out these issues. The fee in lieu will be done with the site plan. Engineer Breinholt said this would set the location of where the road comes in from the south. It is completely up to what happens on this property. It could connect anywhere from here over. It is so open that anything could happen. I do not think we can tell T&M where they have to put this driveway based on our rough idea that a road might connect at some point. We do not need it to be in a specific location at this point. Manager Warnke said I was hoping whatever the road did that it would provide some kind of a connection to that property. Engineer Breinholt said that could become a part of this parcel too—they could make it all one site. So many things could happen here that the connection point is not really a concern.

Mr. Flint asked about the PUEs. Administrator Bench said it would be 15 feet on the roads, but not on the remainder parcel, and 7.5 feet around the back and sides. As things develop and subdivide later, there would be another 7.5 feet, which would make 15 feet between the two. When asked about the rezone. Administrator Bench said the Planning Commission rezoned it and it will go to the City Council on September 3. The Commission suggested an MG zone like Malt-O-Meal for more flexibility.

Mr. Flint asked them to determine how they want the trail to flow. Director Fulgham said I think it would be best to cross on the west side of that frontage road so it does not have to cross two intersections. The power poles shift with the freeway and there is a wider piece. The sidewalk and curb will protect people from traffic and help with storm drain around the frontage. Engineer Breinholt said this field is irrigated so you need to include a way to get the water out. The retention pond cannot be more than 2.5-feet. They work best if you do not let the water get too deep. Mr. Flint said we have a piping system. The 15-inch pipe is already down with 2.5-feet to begin with. The Committee discussed field drains on the site. Director Fulgham said they drain the property, but are not dependable because no one maintains them.

Manager Warnke asked about a soils report. Mr. Flint said one was done in January, but he would follow up on that. There are ditches on the frontage of the property, but it drops about a foot over 1,000 feet. We will get it to flow. Manager Warnke asked if it would be piped. Mr. Flint said yes, we have two culverts on the laydown yard and one across the entrance here.

When asked about an easement for the storm drain pond. Engineer Breinholt said your plat needs to dedicate an easement for that lot on the remainder parcel for the piping and pond. Signage for the existing site will be brought up at the site plan and water shares will be based on the final site plan for the irrigable area. You will be required to have a 4-foot sidewalk around your site.

When asked about timing. Administrator Bench said we need time to review the preliminary plat before approval. It would then go to the Planning Commission for a preliminary approval then back to this board for a final. Engineer Breinholt said the labels are not right. You need 10 x 20 stalls with 25-foot drive isles where people will be backing up. On these the 24 feet is fine because they are not backing into each other. The Committee discussed the required amount of parking stalls. Administrator Bench said based on the building size you need 18 stalls, but if it is a two-story building you will need 36 stalls. What you are showing out front is adequate. Tune up the subdivision plat and get that emailed back give us. Manager Warnke asked about a development agreement. Administrator Bench said because of the unique site, the development agreement would call out the typical improvements and delay that for the site plan and building permit. Mr. Flint said Travis Scott needs the subdivision approved immediately for financing and will construct the building in the spring.

c. Walk ins:*

There were no walk ins.

4. Comments/Reports: none.

5. Public comments: Comments limited to five minutes.

No public comments.

6. Adjournment:

Motion by Director Fulgham to adjourn the meeting. Motion seconded by consensus of the Committee. The meeting adjourned at 10:07 a.m.

The undersigned duly acting and appointed Recorder for Tremonton City Corporation hereby certifies that the foregoing is a true and correct copy of the minutes of the Development Review Committee Meeting held on the above referenced date. Minutes prepared by Jessica Tanner.

Dated this 11th day of September, 2019

_____________________________
Linsey Nessen, City Recorder

*Utah Code 52-4-202, (6) allows for a topic to be raised by the public and discussed by the public body even though it was not included in the agenda or advance public notice given; however, no final action will be taken.